This blog posting has spawned its own Web site: fakescrowsites.com
The comments on this entry are closed as of June 10, 2004 so we can start transitioning people to the new site.
One of the most devastating scams ever devised by Internet thieves, capable of bilking victims out of $10,000 or more at a clip, is still going strong. Consumers lured by the combination of a great deal on their dream car and the false sense of security that goes with the name “escrow service” continue to fall for the staggering scam. In fact, experts say, it’s more common today than one year ago, when the con was first revealed.
Well, here we are at #4,000. This puts us just 1,000 posts away from our stated goal of 5,000. Along with the 4,000 posts, we have 6,050 comments as of this writing, and that's very cool. We appreciate all the interaction everyone has with the site. Interestingly, we…
A long time ago, in the wee hours of the morning, I made a post to Gadgetopia entitled Fake Escrow Sites. It was a posting about how crooks use fake escrow sites to cheat people out of money. It was just one or two sentences, and it linked…
the site safeonlinedeals.com is a scam, dont let it get you.
I have someone trying to get me to go through this site as well, instead of via amazon. I'm very glad I haven't sent off anything yet. :-)
Was about to wire money for a car.... turned out to be too good to be true...
Does anyone know anything about future-escrow.net, I was encouraged to sell an item and get paid through them. Does anyone know anything about it?
I would NOT do that, the only escrow site that I know that is AUDITED by ebay is www.escrow.com Don't be fooled by sites that say safe and secure and have testimonials, they are most probably fake testemonial and they are not safe nor secure!
I encourage everyone to stay away from escrow sites especially ones that a seller recommends. The scam is becoming epidemic and I only see it getting worse. Local law enforcement does not have the resources to handle most of these type of cases; therefore in all likelihood, you have no recourse.
Here's another fake Escrow site:
http://www.buysell-trades.com/
Looks nice and professional, SCAM SCAM SCAM!! Beware!
Here are a few more fake escrow sites:
http://www.treuservice.com/ http://www.ebso-trader.com http://www.safepays.com/ http://www.printztg.org/
First clue: All of those domains had been registered anywhere from a few days to a few weeks ago, but they claim to be in business for years.
And another one I believe: -
www.faster-traders.com
The strange thing here is that the buyer wanted me (as the seller) to use this site? I only assume that the fake site belongs to him, so he can make it look like his payment had arrived, then I send the goods off .... never to be seen again!!
Cheers, O
www.Goods-pay.com is another one. I just had someone on ebay try hard to stear me that way on a deal that was too good to be true. Slimy Weasels!
Hi,
I have recently sent a camcorder to a spanish address using business-real.com, this was over three weeks ago, since then I have emailed the buyer and the company but am not getting any replys! Do you know if this company is fraudulent? Thanks Scott Taylor
Hi,
I have recently sent a camcorder to a spanish address using business-real.com, this was over three weeks ago, since then I have emailed the buyer and the company but am not getting any replys! Do you know if this company is fraudulent? Thanks Scott Taylor
Thanks to this site I've been saved from sending off a £6000+ diamond ring. The buyer was from Moldova and wanted to use www.printztg.org. Something didnt seem quite right so I looked up this site just before I was about to ship the ring to Moldova. The slimy git is still rubbing his hands I bet at the thought of a free ring, think I might keep this going for a while. The little rat is e-mailing me his address anyday now, so this could be fun...
Like Nick Allan, I too have just been saved from what appears to be the same person in Moldova.
Feel free to send an email to: Pavciuc Vladislav
And if you're in Moldova punch him in the head ... hard!!!
FAKE FAKE FAKE. BRAND NEW as of February. They use it to sell cars. They didn't get me and I am reporting them to all possible fraud investigtors. Hopefully we stop them before they rob anyone.
barros-company.com goes with the post above FAKE FAKE FAKE
Yeah, what a bloody loser. My work mates have suggested going along with it, defecating in a beaker and sending him that. I'm seriously considering it.
Here's the bastard's email:
Hello ,
i am interested in this beautiful laptop item that you wish to sale here on ebay and i would like to buy it . Can you please send me an email with a more detailed description for it and also let me know if the details showed on the description page are acurate . Please let me know the final price for this item that i'll have to pay to buy it . The most important part of this deal is for me the security of the transaction and this is why i wish to use Printz Trading Escrow Company www.printztg.org . Please tell me if you can shipp this item to me by Fedex or DHL. I would like to use one of this two curriers because i live in Republic of Moldavia and thoes are the faster and safer international curriers that i know of. If you wish to see my feedbacks i am regitred with ebay as ID : markchai I look forword for your replay. Kind regards , Pavciuc Vladislav
here's another one:
www.escrow-ic.com
Hi
I have just sent a $2000 dollar laptop to a guy in Moldova, he has had it delivered on the 22nd and I am still waiting for it.
I used printztg.org.... I feel like the biggest idiot, I was selling my item on ebay. He contacted me, it wasn't till I sent the item that I discovered it was a fake site.
What should I do
Bucinschi Alexandru [rassnots@mailftp.com] was his name, he has great feedback on ebay. He must have stolen someone's identity...
What should I do...
nat
I came close to loosing $1000.00 on a laptop purchase. The Seller recomended 'Cycle Trader Escrow' as the Escrow account. Stay away from that company,very, very bad.
FAKE (LOSS OF MONEY) = Cycle Trader Escrow.